Laois Marlins Annual Awards Night Dec 2017

Posted by .

On a very cold night in early December Laois Marlins held the Annual Awards night for the 2016/17 season. This social occasion allowed the swimmers and families to meet up away from the poolside and to appreciate the hard work that all the swimmers put into training each week throughout the year.

The first presentations were the frame Certificates for the swimmers who made the qualification times for the Leinster Division 1 Gala, these swimmers were Grace Hayes, Katie Donoghue, Ben Wall, Conor Menendez, Daniela Ryan and Eve Tarpey.

Next were the Certificates for the swimmers who had made the Leinster Division 1 and the Irish Age Groups (IAG) Division 2 times, these swimmers were Sean Donoghue, Lucy Brennan, Toni Dolan, Zara McMahon, Caoimhe Moore, Cian Nugent, Airidas Pocevicius, Jordan Overton, and Valera Zaharovs.

The final certificates presented were for the swimmers that had achieved the times for the Leinster Division 1, and the IAG Division 1 Championships the two swimmers were Nikita Bondarevs and Shauna Dunne.

Awards were then presented for the Junior & Senior, Male and Female swimmer of the year. The Senior Male swimmer was awarded to Sean Donoghue who showed great determination in training all season which culminated in reaching 4 finals and winning 3 medals at the IAG Division 2 in June. Senior Female swimmer went to Caoimhe Moore, who worked solidly all season and continued taking her times down in all events throughout the season. Junior male swimmer of the year went to Samuel Bourke-Carey who worked hard in training to progress into the Senior Squad this year. Junior female swimmer went to Daniela Ryan who through her commitment to training achieved her first Leinster division 1 qualification times.


The final awards of the night went to the Coaches swimmers of the year, these awards were given not just for performance but for commitment to training, attitude, attendance, and determination. The female swimmer was Niamh Ryan and the male swimmer was Noah Murphy both of whom the Coaches felt were very worthy recipients this year.